ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent management by TermsFeed Privacy Generator

Farm Architecture

… where tradition still rules the landscape. A farmhouse with a shingled heavy roof, a thatched barn and a modern living space underground.

Three buildings, one owner, one name: Felderhof.

Owner with a vision

tom erlacher

In 2006 Tom bought a farm, established in the 11th century. For 10 years he lived without heating or luxury in what is now the alpine lodge. In 2018 finally everything changed. The 60 square meters of the original living space were not enough for his vision for a better life balance. Demolition was not an option for the tradition-loving man from Villanders: “Making something new in the harmony with the old farmhouse which is a listed monument” - that was the vision. Together with architect Pavol Mikolajcak they created something that unites old and new in a completely innovative and beautiful way, farm architecture at its finest.

 

 

Old Farm Architecture

Alpine lodge

Main renovation goals were to expand the comfort by remaking the spaces while keeping the authenticity of a lodge. Felderhof was mentioned for the first time in historic writings back in the 11th century. The attic belonged to the birds and the basement to the pigs, only the first floor was habitable. Thanks to the precise planning done by Perathoner Architects, there are now three floors that you can stay in and explore in our farm lodge - the attic converted to bedrooms, cooking and dinning areas and a secret cellar. The structure and division of the rooms are still guided by the historical layout of the farmhouse. Only now the building is fully equipped with high quality amenities and luxurious details.

Hay Barn

with thatched roof

There are only five farms with thatched roofs left in all of South Tyrol. Tom is proud of keeping the tradition alive and part of his farm architecture at the alpine lodge: 6 tons of a long-stalk rye stray are needed every 30 years to keep the roof intact and with it the unique character of the building. The motto is: collect, collect, and keep collecting, because only a few farmers are still cultivating this kind of rye.

New Farm Architecture

Private Building

The new version of the Felderhof is mostly hidden in the slope. Only a wide window front with the spacious terrace is visible from the outside. The concrete-poured building charmes its guests with its futuristic and contemporary character. The interior is dominated by a spacious living room with refined wood internals. These are a modern interpretation of the traditional paneled walls of the farmhouse - an additional highlight for the successful extension-architecture by architect Pavol Mikolajcak. In the connecting wing the rustic stone walls meet smooth concrete and steel elements. In this way archaic power and modern elegance are united.

Back to top

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent management by TermsFeed Privacy Generator

Farm Architecture

Bauernhaus mit Geschichte wo dennoch Tradition das Landschaftsbild dominiert. Ein Bauernhaus mit Schindel-Schwerdach, ein Stadel mit Strohdach und ein moderner Wohnraum unter der Erde.

Drei Gebäude, ein Besitzer, ein Name: Felderhof.

Besitzer mit Vision

tom erlacher

2006 erwarb Tom den Bauernhof aus dem 11. Jahrhundert. 10 Jahre lang hausierte er ganz ohne Heizung und Luxus in den alten Gemäuern der heutigen Alpin Lodge. Dann 2018 schließlich der Wendepunkt: Mehr Raum und zeitgemäßes Wohnen sollen entstehen. Die 60 Quadratmeter des alten Wohngebäudes boten dafür allerdings wenig Platz. Abreißen? Ein no-go für den traditionsbewussten Villanderer: “Etwas Neues schaffen ohne die Harmonie des denkmalgeschützten Bauernhaus-Komplexes zu zerstören” - so die Vision. Gemeinsam mit dem Architekt Pavol Mikolajcak gelang es, alt und neu auf beispielhafte Art und Weise zu verbinden. Neues Leben für den Paarhof sollte es schließlich 2021 durch die Sanierung des Anwesens für das Projekt Felder Alpin geben.

 

 

Alte Bauernhof Architektur

Paarhof

Den Komfort unserer Zeit ergänzen und die alte Substanz beibehalten, das waren die zwei großen Ziele des Umbaus in 2021. Der Felder Hof wurde im 11. Jahrhundert das erste Mal schriftlich erwähnt. Vor dem Umbau war nur der mittlere Stock bewohnbar. Im Obergeschoss regierten die Vögel, im Keller lebten Schweine. Durch mühevolles Schaufeln von Tom und seinen Freunden im Kellerbereich, sowie exakter Planung durch Perathoner Architects im Dachgeschoss sind nun drei Stockwerke exklusiv für Euch bewohnbar. Die Struktur und Einteilung der Räume werden allerdings heute noch von der historischen Bausubstanz bestimmt. An Heizung, Luxus und Wellness fehlt es allerdings nicht mehr.

Futterhaus

mit Strohdach

Insgesamt gibt es nur mehr fünf Bauernhöfe mit Strohdach in ganz Südtirol. Für Tom ist der Erhalt daher eine Ehrensache: 6 Tonnen Stroh einer langstieligen Roggensorte benötigt es alle 30 Jahre um das Strohdach und somit den einzigartigen Charakter des Wirtschaftsgebäudes zu bewahren. Das Motto lautet also: Sammeln, sammeln und nochmal sammeln, denn nur sehr wenige Bauern bauen dieses Getreide derzeit noch an.

Neue Bauerhof Architektur

Privatgebäude

Der Neubau des Felderhofs ist großteils im Steilhang vergraben. Nur die breite Fensterfront mit weitläufiger Terrasse sind von außen sichtbar. Das aus Sichtbeton gegossene Gebäude besticht mit einem futuristischen und hochmodernen Charakter. Im Innenraum dominiert ein großer Wohnraum mit exquisiten Holz-Einbauten. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Neuinterpretation der verkleideten Wände des Paarhofs - ein weiteres Indiz für die gelungene Erweiterungs- Architektur von Pavol Mikolajcak. Im Verbindungstrakt treffen das rustikale Steingemäuer auf glatte Beton- und Stahlelemente. So verbinden sich archaische Kraft und moderne Eleganz zu einer Einheit.

Back to top